Wout Dekker appointed Chairman of Rabobank Supervisory Board in 2013

Dr Lense Koopmans announced at the General Meeting of Rabobank Nederland that he would be succeeded as Chairman of the Supervisory Board by Wout Dekker (1956) in June 2013. Mr Dekker will continue to serve as CEO of Nutreco until 1 August 2012. Leo Degle (1948) has also been appointed as a new member of the Rabobank Nederland Supervisory Board effective 15 September 2012. Mr Degle was Chief Country Officer at Deutsche Bank etherlands until the end of 2010. Supervisory Board members Erik van de Merwe (1950) and Wout Dekker retired from the Supervisory Board by rotation and were subsequently reappointed members of the Supervisory Board.

Lense Koopmans said he was delighted with the succession of the Chairman of the Supervisory Board that he announced in person. He commended the Supervisory Board for successfully and swiftly appointing an outstanding new Chairman from its ranks. Mr Dekker brings many years of business experience and has extensive management experience and expertise in the food and agri sector. His large national and international network in  oth the business community and academia provides added value for Rabobank given its strategic focus on the food & agribusiness. Koopmans: ‘The independent supervision and the interests of the Rabobank Group are in excellent hands with Wout Dekker. We will continue to serve on the Supervisory Board together for one more year and I will then hand over the chairmanship with complete confidence in June 2013.’

Leo Degle appointed Supervisory Board member

After completing a careful selection process and considering his international banking experience, Leo Degle has been appointed a new member of the Supervisory Board of Rabobank Nederland. Mr Degle was born in Germany and joined Deutsche Bank after his graduation in 1975. He first worked as a Regional Director in Germany for several years and then served as a member of the Executive Board of Deutsche Bank de Bary NV in the Netherlands from 1993 to 2000. From 1995 to 1999, he held the position of Chief Country Officer of Deutsche Bank Belgium where he was responsible for corporate and investment banking and was involved in the acquisition of Credit Lyonnais Belgium.


Mr Degle subsequently served as Chief Country Officer of Deutsche Bank Netherlands from 2000 to 2010 and in this position he coordinated all the activities of 1,500 employees working at sixteen branches. He was also Head of Relationship Management for the top 200 customers and Head of the Global Cross-Product Customer Service Teams. As a member of the deal team, he finalised the acquisition of part of ABN AMRO’s corporate banking operations, which made Deutsche Bank the fourth largest investment bank in the Netherlands. Mr Degle is a seasoned banker and will bring both sound international banking experience and ‘interculturalism’ to the Supervisory Board.


Mr Degle currently serves on the Supervisory Board of Amsterdam Trade Bank (ATB), a position from which he will resign in the near future. His appointment to the Rabobank Nederland Supervisory Board will consequently become effective on 15 September 2012.

Reappointment of Supervisory Board members

The General Meeting of Rabobank Nederland furthermore approved the reappointment of Mr Erik van de Merwe and Mr Wout Dekker as members of the Supervisory Board. Both retired by rotation as members of the Supervisory Board and were available for a new term. Their specific knowledge and experience contributes to a complementary Supervisory Board with a balanced composition in accordance with the Dutch Banking Code.


Mr Van de Merwe has many years of management experience in the financial sector. He has served on the Supervisory Boards of various companies inside and outside the financial sector. With his knowledge of ICT and risk management, he makes a very valuable contribution both to the Audit, Compliance & Risk Committee and the Supervisory Board.


These appointments and reappointments mean the Supervisory Board of Rabobank Nederland is comprised of the following twelve members: Dr Lense Koopmans (Chairman), Antoon Vermeer (Deputy Chairman), Dr Martin Tielen, Irene Asscher-Vonk, Tom de Bruijn, Wout Dekker, Dr Louise Fresco, Leo Graafsma, Erik van de Merwe, Marinus Minderhoud, Dr Cees Veerman and Leo Degle (appointment effective 15 September 2012).

Tags   Investor News