Berry Marttin elected new President of the EACB

The Executive Committee of the European Association of Co-operative Banks (EACB), in its meeting held by videoconference today, elected Berry Marttin, Board Member of Rabobank, as its new President for a term of two years.

Mr. Marttin takes over the Presidency of the Association from Mr. Gerhard Hofmann, Member of the Board of the National Association of German Cooperative Banks (BVR), who had chaired the EACB in the past four years.

Berry Marttin, over the course of his career at Rabobank, has gained extensive experience as an international banker in both wholesale and retail banking working in various senior executive positions internationally. As from 2009, he joined the Managing Board with special focus on Rabobank’s international rural banking activities and further responsibilities for e.g. Leasing, Banking for Food Inspiration Center, the Sustainability domain and Rabobank Foundation.

Newly elected President Berry Marttin commented on his appointment: “The cooperative structure is more than two centuries old. Of course, things have changed as we are transforming to a digital society and a green transformation of our economy. In this setting, the cooperative – that is respecting the interest of all its stakeholders - is more vivid and vital than ever to drive this transformation.”

“The EACB is vocalizing the voice of 84 million members and 209 million customers, with a strong commitment to responsibility and social cohesion. As such, we can help progress towards needed shifts in the local and global community. I’m deeply honoured to have been given the task to chair the EACB and pursue its goals.”

Published: July 9th 2020, 11:00 CET

Press contact

Joris Hoff

Press Officer

+31 6 8328 9607


All Press Officers